top of page

8 limbs of Yoga

8 Limbs of Yoga Series

The eight limbs of yoga, also known as Ashtanga Yoga, are a set of guidelines for living a meaningful and purposeful life. These eight limbs, or steps, provide a holistic approach to personal growth and self-awareness. They include:

1. Yama: ethical principles for how to interact with others 2. Niyama: self-disciplines and personal observances 3. Asana: physical postures 4. Pranayama: control of the breath 5. Pratyahara: control of the senses 6. Dharana: concentration 7. Dhyana: meditation 8. Samadhi: enlightenment

In everyday life, the principles of the eight limbs of yoga can be applied in many ways. For example, the yama of non-violence can be applied by practicing kindness and compassion towards others. The niyama of contentment can be applied by learning to appreciate what we already have and not constantly striving for more. The asanas, or physical postures, can be applied by taking time to stretch and move our bodies in a compassionate and intentional way. The pranayama, or control of the breath, can be applied by taking deep breaths in difficult situations to stay calm and centered. Such as panic attacks, anxiety, PTSD, and #yama #niyama #asana #pranayama #pratyahara #dharana #dhyana #samadhi #eightlimbsofyoga #thejoyofyoga


bottom of page